Organisational Structure

Organigram 01.01.2021 (.PDF / 36 kB)

Supreme Audit Office of the Slovak Republic in brief

SAO SR is an auditing/controlling institution of Westminster type (monocratic leadership) to perform external audits/controls in State and regional municipalities’ administration.

Its head is a President elected for 7 years tenure that can be extended by another 7 years providing successful election performed by the national body setting the law framework and adopting individual laws (National Council of the Slovak Republic – Parliament). The same applies to the SAO SR Vice-Presidents.

The President sets the organisational structure on his/hers own volition in order to fulfil the goals the SAO SR is to achieve.

As of January 1st, 2017, SAO SR consists of a President with two Vice-Presidents, all elected by the National Council of the Slovak Republic. They have to their disposal the SAO SR headquarters sedated in Bratislava and 290 SAO SR full-time employees (there are 20 people on paternity leave and 3 on temporary leave to fulfil other public service – state and municipality – duties). 

The SAO SR headquarters consist of two audit departments and several organisational units providing support services (Office of the President, Human Resources Division, Strategy Department and Internal Auditor Desk). There are also eight regional branches seated in regional centres that audit the self-governing regional, district and local municipalities (more than 2 900).


SAO SR President´s advisory organs

  • Classified Documents Commission
  • Damage Commission
  • Elimination of Redundant and Useless Property Commission
  • Inventory Civic Protection Commission
  • Labour Safety and Health Protection Commission
  • Legislative Council
  • Liquidation Commission
  • Supervision of Mandatory Provisions in Personal Data Processing
  • SAO SR Lecturers Working Group